I hope you got out to rake up the last of those leaves earlier this week, because the weather has turned decidedly chilly! I might have even seen a snowflake on Thursday, but I refuse to accept that winter is here yet. Thankfully, looking at the long-range forecast for London, it shouldn’t be a problem for me to be delusional about it for a little while longer. Friday will still be mighty chilly, but we’ll be safely above zero all weekend. There might be a spot of rain on Sunday though, so if you are planning any outdoor activities, Saturday would be your best bet.

So as far as activities go, did you get those leaves bagged?

Don’t look at me! I’m not one to judge!

If you do have to collect one or two more piles leaves, then I have another suggestion for you while you are at it. I know you love when I have a suggestion to make! While you have your gloves on, grab the ladder out of the garage and head up to the roof. You know what I am going to suggest, right? Yup, time to clean out the gutters too.

You might not think about your gutters on a regular basis, but they are a pretty important part of your house. When it rains, water flows off your roof and into your gutters. The gutters then direct that water away from your house and down to the ground, where it is dispersed to your rain barrel, garden or wherever you have your down spouts pointing to. If your gutters get clogged up with leaves, that water has no place to go and gets stuck. If left for a period of time, the water stagnates, which can rot out the fascia board behind the gutter. It also causes leaky gutters and roofs,  cracked foundations and driveways, plus can even lead to your landscaping getting washed away. As the rain turns into snow, the other worry is that snow will pile up on the roof, leading to ice dams.

All of this can be avoided be a trip up the ladder for a much-needed clean out of those all-important gutters. You might even want to install some sort of gutter guard while you are up there. There are plenty on the market, but the gist of them is that they prevent leaves from getting lodged in your gutters in the first place. You should still inspect your gutters on a regular basis though, but a gutter guard makes a lot of sense and saves you some labour down the road.

Don't have to worry about cleaning out the gutters here yet

After all that work, why don’t you kick off your shoes and go wash your hands. Scooping out wet leaves is a pretty mucky job. Let me take over work for a few minutes now. I am dying to show you what I have been up to. I have been hard at work on my FOLLOW THE FLIP  houses. The siding looks awesome on Charlotte St.,  if I do say so myself. Don’t you think so too? Still have to put up gutters, but it is coming along. We are busting it to take advantage of this mild weather and finish our exterior, before we are working in two feet of snow.

Here we have the Master Bathroom

In other new, the demolition on Lorne Ave has been extensive and dirty. We pulled a tonne of stuff out of that house! I couldn’t believe it, but there were over 50 television sets in the attic! Add to that motorcycle parts, computer components, junk, junk and more junk. Once all the debris started to disappear, the house actually didn’t look too bad though. Don’t get me wrong. The main floor is going to be pretty much gutted, modernized and given a brand new face lift to bring it into the 21st Century.

But we have our work cut out for us, as you can plainly see.

