Now that a little snow has fallen, it really is starting to look a lot like Christmas. My Christmas lights are sparkling outside at my house, but I prefer to admire them from the warmth of inside after finishing the last of the exterior touch-ups over on Charlotte. My FOLLOW THE FLIP is coming along pretty good, if I do say so myself. We should be getting the stained glass back soon and I promise that I will share a picture or two of it when it is in! With night falling sooner and sooner though, it is a good thing that work will be moving inside on my flips. My fingers won’t be able to grip the power tools outside for much longer! And on that note, perhaps I will pour myself a glass of something to warm up the old insides. Mmm!

 

Since I have a nice clean fireplace, perhaps I will spark up a blazing fire tonight and relax in front of it with a movie to unwind. How about a Christmas movie! What are your favourites? We all have different opinions at my house, so I will share some of our top picks to inspire you with.

 

Here is my youngest’s pick. I can’t blame her either, because I kind of like “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” myself. Dr. Seuss was a weird, creative and kind of spooky person to create all of those fantastical characters. But who doesn’t love all the Whos down in Whoville? And while everyone loves to hate the Grinch, I secretly kind of liked him, even before his heart grew three sizes bigger.

 

“Home Alone” tops the list for my son. I suspect that he can totally picture himself in Kevin’s role and would love to face off against those bungling burglars. Ha! I can’t imagine why…

 


I myself have always been partial to “A Christmas Story” with little Ralphie. I always wanted a Red Ryder BB Gun. And I could have taken Black Bart any day! But I never stuck myself to a pole in the playground. Honest!

 

Ho, Ho, Ho…

 

Of course my wife insists that we watch “It’s a Wonderful Life” at some point too. I have to admit that George Bailey is a pretty likable character too, so I don’t mind. And who doesn’t like watching errant angel Clarence gain a new set of wings? Made in 1946, this Christmas movie is definitely a classic!

 

There are always other Christmas movies that see some video play at our house as well. I loved introducing the kids to Charlie Brown’s Christmas when they were younger. I always threatened them that I would bring home one of his trees to their hearty protests. Ah, it just warms the heart, doesn’t it.

 

And the “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation” is always good for warming up the funny bone! I can watch Clark and the Griswald clan over and over again. Love me that turkey!

 

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention “The Polar Express” too, as the wife likes that one as well. Don’t we all want to believe in Christmas again? This one will tug at your child-like dreams once more.

 

But if you want one more suggestion from me, the kids will love all of the claymation movies from Arthur Rankin, Jr. I leave you with a clip from “Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town”. Enjoy!

