Its a few days til Christmas, so I won’t keep you long. I’ve still got a few things to pick up, groceries among other things. How is it that Christmas snuck up on me again this year? It seems to happen every year, so I guess I have consistency on my side. I am going to blame my lack of Christmas prep on the FOLLOW THE FLIP houses this year. Not that I would say that to my wife though, as then she would have a few choice words for me I’m sure.

Speaking of FOLLOW THE FLIP, we are just about done the drywalling. It is looking good, if I do say so myself. Sadly, the butterflies are all gone. The good news for you though is that some fresh paint will be hitting those walls before you know it. Do you have a suggestion on colour? I may or may not listen to you, but if you want to talk about a real estate deal in the near future, I may be swayed. Here’s hoping that Santa’s elves are handy too, as I asked Santa for a new bathroom on Charlotte as well! I have been good Santa! Honest! Just don’t talk to the wife.

Stuart McLean A Vinyl Cafe Christmas The Tradition Continues

Speaking of Santa, are you ready for the holidays? You are! Darn you. Well, if you have the time on yours hands,  there is still lots to do around London town. I heard tell that Stuart McLean will be at Centennial Hall again this year. If you aren’t familiar with Stuart McLean, he tells a mean story on the CBC radio program called the Vinyl Cafe. It is always heartwarming, definitely funny and sometimes might even bring a tear to a lesser man’s eye. He has been bringing his  annual Christmas tour to London for a number of years now and this year is no exception. He will be at Centennial Hall tonight December 22nd and tomorrow December 23rd at 7pm. You won’t be disappointed, unless you miss out on tickets.

If you still have too many things on the list to fit it in, can I at least help you out with a cookie recipe for Santa? How can you resist anything eggnog at this time of year? Merry Christmas

Eggnog Spritz

INGREDIENTS:

2/3 cup sugar
1 cup butter — softened
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
For Glaze
1 cup powdered sugar
1/4 cup butter — softened
2 tablespoons water
1/4 teaspoon rum extract

DIRECTIONS:

Heat oven to 400F. In large mixer bowl combine sugar, butter, egg, salt, spices, and vanilla. Beat at medium speed, scraping bowl often, until mixture is light and fluffy, 2 to 3 minutes. Add flour. Beat at low speed, scraping bowl often, until well mixed, 2 to 3 minutes. If dough is too soft, cover and refrigerate until firm enough to form cookies, 30 to 45 minutes. Place dough in cookie press. Form desired shapes 1 inch apart on cookie sheets. Bake for 6 to 8 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. For Glaze, in small bowl stir together powdered sugar, butter, water, and rum extract until smooth. Drizzle or pipe over warm cookies.

