One week til Christmas
And I’m going crazy.
There’s shopping and wrapping
And I completely forgot a present for Aunt Daisy.

I’ve sent Christmas greetings
To all and sundry,
But was just reminded that the babysitter
still needs her bonus before Monday

So it’s back to the mall
To fight for a da#@ parking place
Just to find that the last gift card
Was sold to the previous guy who came through all-crazed.

Argh! Is this a time of holiday cheer?
More like orchestrated chaos,
Softened by one too many rum and eggnogs,
Or maybe that last Christmas beer.

Well, the tree is still sparkling
Despite the near-disaster when it hit the floor.
Can I just tell you, there won’t be any catnip
In the cat’s stocking anymore…

But I still have my health,
Despite a brush with the Norwalk virus.
That’s the last time I get coerced to go carolling
At a nursing home full of miasmas

Now my children are home
Making plans for the big day
Did I hear them just remark
“Shall we open stockings first or the new Wii Play?”

Well, peekers or not , I love them
And my wife is pretty special too
Plus, my in-laws are on the way (already!)
So I better refresh my eggnog, while I’m  making this fish stew.

Without time left for baking
I’m now off to the grocery store
So dinner is in the crockpot
And you are welcome to the recipe to save time for your own chores.

Merry Christmas, one and all!
May the last week before the holidays
Find you healthy, (probably not so) wealthy, but
Full of good cheer in your decked halls.

*CROCK POT FISH STEW (from Food.com)

Ingredients:

  • 2 small potatoes (quartered and thinly sliced)
  • 1 large carrot (quartered and sliced)
  • 1/4 head cabbage (cut to bite size)
  • 1/2 large onion (coarsely diced)
  • 2 large fish fillets (cut to bite size)
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic paste
  • 1 tablespoon dried basil
  • 1 tablespoon turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon powdered coriander
  • 1 (15 1/2 ounce) can diced tomatoes (with sauce)
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 2 cups chicken stock or 2 cups bouillon
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch

Directions:

Place potatoes on the bottom of crock pot. Add carrot, cabbage, onion, fish, garlic, basil, thyme, cayenne, coriander, tomatoes, tomato paste, and stock.

Cover and cook on low for 7 – 8 hours. One-half hour prior to serving stir in corn starch until reach desired consistency.

Serve over rice and garnish with fresh parsley.

 

