The weekend is almost here. You need to get through one more day of work to make it to two blissful days off. I normally regal you with all the fantastic things that London, Ontario has to offer. And there is plenty of stuff to get up to here. I know I am blessed to live in such a great city and can’t praise it enough.

But I have to say I am tired.

The Harvest Moon is at its peak tonight

I don’t know if it’s because I still haven’t adjusted to the back to school routine. It could be because the Harvest Moon has been shining bright this week. It might be because Fall officially arrives this weekend, so we can look forward to longer nights and shorter days, with potentially less sunshine available to perk up spirits. I know a lot of people who are hitting that nesting phase in preparation for winter, making soups, canning, baking, cleaning and organizing their lives.

I think it is my turn this weekend.

Sure, you could hit the theatre (Legally Blonde is getting great reviews at the Grand Theatre), check out the Old East Village Fall Festival, or attend one of the many sports events going on this weekend (watch the Western Mustangs, London City Soccer, or London Knights in action). I might do one or all of those things. I suspect that my weekend plans are going to be a little more low-key though. Sure it might be tempting to go apple picking, get lost in a corn maze, or just wander quietly through a forest to breathe in the Autumn air. In fact, all of those things are really tempting now that I think of it.

Then I think about the fact that maybe I could sleep in this weekend. Perhaps I could tick a few late summer projects off around the house before the cooler weather really sets in.  Once I have had my leisurely coffee over the newspaper that is. Or maybe I could make the rest of my week easier by prepping a few meals to freeze for mid-week crazy days. Yeah, how about pesto from the basil before it gets hit by frost, spaghetti sauce from your abundance of tomatoes, or a few pots of soup from all those great seasonal vegetables that are overflowing at farmers markets across Ontario. I know! Here’s a recipe that uses plenty of great Ontario veggies, from the Foodland Ontario site.

ONTARIO BORSCHT

Ingredients:

  • Borscht, a vegetable dish.

    Borscht, a vegetable dish. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

    tbsp (30 ml) butter

  • 6 Ontario Beets (peeled and shredded)
  • 4 Ontario leeks (chopped)
  • 2 cups (500 ml) Ontario mushrooms (sliced)
  • 2 Ontario Carrots (shredded)
  • 2 cloves Ontario Garlic (minced)
  • 1 Ontario Onion (chopped)
  • 1 Ontario White Turnip (peeled and shredded)
  • 1 stalk celery (chopped)
  • 1 Ontario Potato (peeled and chopped)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 7 cups (1750 ml) beef (or vegetable broth)
  • tbsp (30 ml) tomato paste
  • 2 cups (500 ml) Ontario Cabbage (shredded)
  • 1 can white kidney beans (drained and rinsed)
  • tbsp (44 ml) red wine vinegar
  • tsp (5 ml) granulated sugar
  •  Salt and pepper
  •  Sour cream and snipped chives (or green onion tops)

Directions:

  • In large saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Add beets, leeks, mushrooms, carrots, garlic, onion, white turnip, celery, potato and bay leaves; cook, stirring occasionally, for 20 minutes.
  • Stir in broth and tomato paste. Bring to simmer and simmer gently for 10 minutes. Stir in cabbage and beans; cook for 5 minutes.
  • Season with vinegar, sugar, and salt and pepper to taste, adding more vinegar and sugar if needed. (There should be a nice sweet and sour balance.) Discard bay leaves. Place dollop of sour cream and sprinkle of chives on each serving.

Tip: This soup freezes well, so double the batch and freeze for later use.

 

Of course, I might not get out of bed at all. What are you up to this weekend?

